jump to navigation

New Wisconsin Auto Insurance Law June 9, 2010

Posted by Andrew Christman in FAQ Personal Injury, Motorcycle Collisions, Personal Injury Law, Wisconsin Auto Accidents.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

As of June 1, 2010, auto insurance is now mandatory for all car owners in Wisconsin.  The law requires minimum coverage of $50,000 for the injury or death of one person, $100,000 for the injury or death of two or more people and $15,000 for property damage.  Drivers that do not have insurance can be fined up to $500.

The law requires that drives keep proof of their insurance information in the car.  Police officers can request proof of insurance at traffic stops and accidents.  Failure to provide this proof of insurance can result in a fine of $10.

The law also requires uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage each with minimum limits of $100,000/$300,000 for bodily injury coverage.

More information on the new insurance laws can be found at the websites for the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance and the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles.

Feel free to contact Groth Law Firm, S.C. if you have any questions or would like to discuss your need for a personal injury attorney.  Groth Law Firm, S.C. has offices to meet with clients in Brookfield, Milwaukee, Green Bay and Marinette.

Advertisements

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: