jump to navigation

Child Safety Seats April 9, 2009

Posted by Attorney Jonathan Groth in Personal Injury Law, Wisconsin Auto Accidents.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I was surprised at the small number of states that require children to ride in the back seat.  To me it seems like common sense.  Wisconsin requires that children under the age of 3 be in a rear seat, if available.

The info provided by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety has a good visual of the age at which children must be in a restraint or booster seat.

In Wisconsin those who must be in a safety seat are:

children younger than 1 and all children who weigh less than 20 pounds are required to be in a rear-facing infant seat; children 1 through 3 years who weigh at least 20 pounds but less than 40 pounds are required to be in a forward-facing child safety seat; children 4 through 7 who both weigh at least 40 pounds but less than 80 pounds and who are less than 57 inches tall are required to be in a booster seat

Simply an adult safety belt is permissible in Wisconsin if the child is:

8 years and younger and more than 80 pounds and 57 inches or taller

Jon Groth is a Wisconsin Personal Injury Attorney handling cases throughout Wisconsin and most recently in West AllisSheboygan,  Plymouth,  and Germantown.

If you’d like to submit a question or case please complete a case submission form.

Advertisements

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: